how i am who iam

in a recent comment i was asked a short series of questions about how i am who i am. instead of just shooting off a reply i thot it may be helpful and encouraging to post this as an entry for everyone to see.

Omninescience asked:

One question that I’ve always wondered about you graceshaker, how do you do it? do you ever feel tired? carelessness? apathetic? selfish? have you ever not cared? have you ever woke up one day decided you wanted to placed more concerned for your own well-being as opposed to others?

You see these are the questions I ask myself when I observe men such as yourself who do wonderful things for other people and for the environment (that wouldn’t even notice you). I know these questions are personal and you don’t have to answer them, but people like you fill my mind with questions. You see I think I have a good grasp of human nature and how ugly it exposes itself, but what I don’t understand is how do you do what you are able to do? If your answer would be “with Christ help” emphasizing this would be a great help for me.

there are certainly times when i feel tired selfish and apathetic. there are days when i almost wish i believed in the god who died for my sins so that i could go on about living my life however i wanted and still go to heaven.

but i dont believe in that god.

the god i believe in didnt just appear one day and die and then get up again and fly off. he lived here among us. he went from place to place feeding and healing and teaching people. he gave up his comfortable throne and his immortality to become like us. and if im going to follow him thats exactly what i have to do as well.

i have to give up the comfortable throne of my life and get out among the people to meet their needs. i have to sacrifice everything for the sake of others. the god i believe in didnt just punch my ticket to a better place – he lived out everything he wanted from his followers and then he made a promise:

to not leave us as he found us.

he knew we wouldnt be able to just do it so the promise of the holy spirit is much more than the idea of getting a little help from god when you cant quite get it done. its his promise to change you and make you just like christ. which in turn means that even tho i wake up some mornings feeling tired selfish and apathetic i can turn to god and ask him to make me like christ..

and he will.

and as im being made like christ im more and more concerned for others and their needs. im more interested in doing something to preserve gods creation. im more capable of teaching people what it means to know and love and follow christ.

and it all revolves around his desire to make me like christ. i dont have to try my hardest to be good and do good things to impress god or man. i just have to remember to ask god to make me like christ and then be who he is making me to be.

this is how i am who i am.

so whenever you see me doing wondeful things for other people and for the environment it means gods promise is active and evident in my life. and it can be in yours as well. he is making me like christ and he can do the same for you.

theres one other thing i need to add: this doesnt happen in a void. i have found that an essential part of god making me like christ is being in community with others who are being made like christ. the lone ranger stuff doesnt work. following jesus is not an individual thing – its a group thing and this is not negotiable.

bc even jesus didnt go it alone.

~ by graceshaker on April 6, 2009.

8 Responses to “how i am who iam”

  1. Sounds like you are living the Truth. So many are hearers of the Word. god bless you and keep you in all that you do in His name. This is one of the best Christian posts i have read in a long time.

  2. Ditto the above.
    This is going into your book, right? You will be the next Rob Bell–but better.

  3. I loathe your god, and would rather burn in hell for all eternity than worship such a monster.

  4. will and hill – thanks guys. that means a lot.

    goliath – loathing is such a monsterish thing to do..

  5. And yet you’re looking forward to your front row seat in heaven where you can watch me burn for all eternity. What the fuck is wrong with you?

  6. it seems you have mistaken me for someone else.

  7. How is that, exactly?

  8. i have no desire to watch you or anyone else burn for any length of time.

Leave a Reply

