do u believe in prayer?

yesterday on facebook an old friend of mine asked the question do you believe in prayer? my initial response was that prayer isnt something i believe in bc i dont put any faith in my ability to communicate w god. this answer apparently stirred my friend as well as another old friend to ask me privately what i meant so i responded..

i guess it was in the way the question was asked. for some it may b just semantics but for me it isnt. the wording of the question supposes prayer to b something one can believe in or put faith in – which as far as i understand means its some sorta formula. 2 believe in and put faith in my ability to communicate w god – my ability to say the right words or follow procedure by bowing my head and closing my eyes etc – doesnt seem worthy of belief or faith 2 me. prayer is no more than conversation and conversation is not something to place faith in.

but god on the other hand…jesus? thats where my faith is. bc even when my words dont make sense or come out right – even when i dont have any words at all – the father knows me. he knows my heart and mind. he knows wot im trying to say even if ive butchered it and said it all wrong. he knows what im needing even if i cant express it properly. thats wot a good father does. he knows his child. and thats what i believe in. thats where i place my faith – in gods ability to know me despite my broken attempts to communicate with him.

romans 8:26-28

likewise the spirit helps us in our weakness. for we do not know what to pray for as we ought but the spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. and he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the spirit bc the spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of god. and we know that for those who love god all things work together for good – for those who are called according to his purpose.

~ by graceshaker on February 17, 2010.

4 Responses to “do u believe in prayer?”

  1. Good points. It’s so easy to forget that my faith is in God,, a person. My brother and I have talked about this a lot lately. I’ll send this to him.

    But you believe in praying? You think there is value in attempting?

    To God be all glory,
    Lisa of Longbourn

  2. “ask and it will be given to you, seek and you will find it, knock and the door will be opened to you.” Matt 7:7 later on Jesus uses an analogy to explain that God wants to give us such good gifts if we would only ask him.

    It is worth the effort indeed. How would one have a relationship with God without talking to him? It does not depend on my ability to communicate effectively because God already knows the desires of my heart, but he commands (God doesn’t ask very often) for me to ask for the desires of my heart.

    I do believe god provided a guideline (not a manditory to do list) for prayer through Christ in the “Lord’s Prayer”. I believe prayer involves u recognizing the greatness of God without provision in our lives (adoring who God is), giving thanks for what he has done, confessing our short-comings, and asking for God to meet our needs and give us the desires of our heart as described in Matt 7:7.

  3. graceshaker, this is the way I always felt about prayer, but I always had a problem expressing it in a understandable language and I’m really impressed with how effectively you were able to express your thoughts here without sounding too pretentious or over complicated.

    On a side note, to contribute to this idea of prayer I’ll also contribute a bit of mine. Sometimes I feel prayer is unnecessary in the trivial sense, I think most peoples conception about prayer is distorted and leans very far away of the psychology behind it. Prayer now is represented as material statements of ones own selfishness, I don’t think God really cares about your job, or how much money you make, or if you are going to lose your house, or your leg, all that depends on our will power, not Gods power. As for the psychology of prayer, it allows us to pierce our minds, reveal an awareness of ourselves, so we can admit our bad conscience and admit our guilt. It’s a confrontation God intended for ourselves.

  4. To remove confusion, I said I couldn’t express prayer in a understandable language but then I did express it. I was merely stating in the sense in which you had expressed your ideas.

Leave a Reply

